A post about web design (and my stupidity)

4 Apr

This post is a webdesign-y, so apologies if you find it dull/nonsensical.

Something good happened today, that was rather unexpected; I woke up much later than I wanted to, spent an hour or so feeling restless and edgy, so decided to do some work.

It was only last week that I’d decided I needed to get this particular site done, so I thought I’d get on with coding the pages I needed to finish before starting on the fun of modifying it for WordPress. But then I remembered getting an email a while back about making some fairly big changes to a site that’s already live, so I decided to do that first – “it won’t take long,” I thought, “just a bit of copying and pasting, with a few changes here and there”. I was wrong. Very wrong.

You don’t have to know much about web design to know that struggling to understand your own code is not a good thing. The HTML was fine – the classes and IDs were named well enough – but the the CSS was a shambles. For some reason, when I was making the site I decided that the layout code and the code for the typography for individual bits of the site didn’t need to be near each other, so trying to find something specific related one page of the site, for example, took me about 5 minutes.

Unfortunately, that wasn’t even the stupidest thing I did. After building the site in HTML/CSS last time, having got everything looking the way I wanted, I started the move to WordPress. It was about this time that I decided some things could look better, so I started making a few little changes here and there; this may not be so obvious to someone who doesn’t know anything about web design, so to be clear, it’s not a good thing; it’s a very stupid thing. The version I have on my hard drive looks worryingly different to the one that is live and visible on the website now, so there’s a good chance that any improvements I make on the local version will make a complete mess of/break the website that is currently up. So the decision had kind of been made for me; I was rebuilding it from scratch.

I realise that most of what I’ve mentioned so far hasn’t really been good, like I said earlier, but in a way it sort of was; this site was going to be vastly improved by this and since I can be judged on it by potential clients, it should look good. Mostly, though, it’s because I started working on the site (with I’m Alan Partridge on in the background, naturally) and I kind of switched off. I’m not entirely sure what time I’d started working on it, but I was definitely working on it 1pm – it was 7:30pm when I next recall checking the time. I had worked for 6 and a half hours without even realising it – I’d actually quite enjoyed it. A good thing, I’d say.

Leave a Reply

